Hinduism News:

Navagraha(Planets) in Vedic Astology

Navagraha(Nine Planets)

According to Vedic Astrology, the planets are relay stations for the reception and transmission of stellar energies.
In Vedic Astrology, the seven major or visible planets are normally listed in order of the days they rule: Sun, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn for Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Satutday.

Order of Navagraha(Nine Planets)

Of the planets, the Sun and the Moon, as the two luminaries are most important. Next in importance are Mars, Jupiter and Saturn as the major planets beyond the orbit of the earth. Then come Venus and Mercury as the major planets within the orbit of Earth and therefore always close to the Sun.
The Lunar nodes, norh and south, called Rahu and Ketu, regarded as shadowy or secondary planets, are of yet less imporatance. After them in significance we can place the distant planets of Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

Navagraha and the Qualities of Nature

The planets are generally given the three qualities as follows:


Sattva Sun, Moon and Jupiter
Rajas Mercury and Venus
Tamas Mars and Saturn (also Rahu and Ketu)

Elements of the Navagraha(Planets)

The traditional association of elements and planets in Vedic Astrilogy are as follows:


Space Jupiter
Air Saturn and Rahu
Fire Sun, Mars and Ketu
Water Moon and Venus
Earth Mercury

Navagraha(Planetary) Natures – Benefic and Malefic

Greater Benefic Jupiter
Lesser Benefic Venus
Genaral Benefic Moon and Mercury
Greater Malefic Saturn and Rahu
Lesser Malefic Mars and Ketu
General Malefic Sun

What Next?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.