Hinduism News:

History and Significance of Sri Kalamegaperumal Temple, Thirumohur 

Thirumohur is one of the 108 Vaishnava Divya Desas. The presiding deity Himself led Nammalvar to Vaikunta. Thirumohur is the Divyadesa where Perumal took the Mohini (enchanting woman form). A single visit and prayer in the temple guarantees salvation to the devotee. The Ksheerabthi Nathar and Mother in the shrine are in a praying pose before the presiding deity and this is known as Prarthana Sayanam. Chakkarathalwar: Sudarsanar (Chakkarathalwar) has 16 hands with 16 weapons, rolling feet and the idol bears holy mantra letters. This is the only temple where Sudarsanar has all these special aspects. Though there are Sudarsanar shrine in other famous Vaishnava temples as Srirangam, Kancheepuram and Srivilliputhur, this is the only shrine where He appears with such holy letters. Behind the Chakkarathalwar is Yoga Narasimhar known as Narasimha Sudarsanam. The shrine is very famous as the expectations of the devotees for business development and marriage alliances end in success.

History of Sri Kalamegaperumal Temple, Thirumohur

During the churning of the milk ocean, the devas and the demons picked up a quarrel. The devas went to the Lord and appealed for freedom from the demons. Lord Vishnu took the form of an enchanting woman and lured the demons and gave the nectar to the devas. Moham in Sanskrit means passion or desire. As Vishnu took the Mohini form, the place was known as Thirumohanavur, which later came to be known as Thirumohur. The great Vaishnavite saint Nammalwar prayed to all Perumals in the 108 Divyadesas, but Kalamegaperumal of this temple only took the Alwar to salvation. Hence, once a devotee prays to Kalamegaperumal in this temple, his /her seat in the other world – Vaikunta – is ensued. The Chakkarathazhwar is a powerful and graceful deity here.

What Next?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.