Hinduism News:

Durga Puja

Durga Puja is also called as Akaal Bodhan and it is largely observed by the Hindus. This particular festival begins on the second day of month Kartik and ends on the seventh day of month Kartik. It is also referred to as Durgotsava or Sharadotsav. In South Asia, it is an annual Hindu festival. This festival is largely dedicated to the Hindu goddess Durga. It is celebrated for duration of six days and regionally known as Vijayadashami, Maha Navami, Maha Ashtami, Maha Saptami, Shashthi and Mahalaya. According to the Hindu traditional calendar, the dates of Durga Puja grand celebrations are perfectly set. It is to be noted that the fortnight largely corresponding to the festivity is known as Devi Paksha (‘Fortnight of the Goddess’). The last day of the previous fortnight is known as Pitri Paksha (‘Fortnight of the Forefathers’). On the other hand, Devi Paksha is preceded by Mahalaya. On Kojagori Full Moon Night, it ends on Kojagori Lokkhi Puja that is with worship of Goddess Lakshmi.

Over the evil buffalo demon named Mahishasura, Durga Puja festival largely marks the victory of Goddess Durga. Therefore, Durga Puja festival represents the victory of Good over Evil. This festival is grandly celebrated in the Indian state of West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha, Jharkhand, Bihar and Assam. It is a five-day annual holiday in these states. It is the biggest festival of the annual year in the state of West Bengal and Tripura and celebrated by the majority of Bengali Hindus.

In Bengali Hindu society, it is one of the most significant socio-cultural events. It is also celebrated in the state of Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Gujarat, Punjab, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi. It is also celebrated in Bangladesh and Nepal. This festival unites the people in the communities for a religious cause.

What Next?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.