Hinduism News:

Ashtavinayaka Temples near Pune: Ashtavinayak Yatra

Ashtavinayaka Temples are eight famous Ganesha temples located near Pune in Maharashtra. The holy pilgrimage or the Ashtavinayaka yatra covers the eight holy temples of Ganesha. Jagrut or Swayambhu (self-originated) are all the Eight Ashtavinayak Temples.  For various places, there are several names of Lord Ganesh.

Varad Vinayak, Ballaleshwar, Siddhivinayak, Vighneshwar, Girijatmak, Chintamani, Mahaganpati and Moreshwar are the various names of Lord Ganesh.  It is to be noted that these holy Temples are located in Mahad, Pali, Siddhatek, Ojhar, Lenyadri, Theur, Ranjangaon and Morgaon.

All these holy places are at Pune, Raigad and Ahamadnagar district. Among the eight vinayakas, 2 in Raigad district and 6 are in Pune district area. Even those 2 temples which are located in Raigad are actually nearer to the Pune district border areas.

Ashtavinayaka in Sanskrit literally means “eight Ganeshas”. According to the Hindu religious beliefs, Lord Ganesha is the Hindu deity of prosperity, learning, unity and obstacles. The term Ashtavinayaka refers to eight Ganeshas. A holy pilgrimage to the eight Ganeshas, Hindu temples in Maharashtra state of India is refered as Ashtavinayaka yatra. These eight Ganeshas Temples houses eight distinct idols of Lord Ganesha, in discovery with certainty or as through examination or experimentation sequence.

The  idols of the Ashtavinayak or the eight temples/ in their religious sequence are Moreshwar Temple, Morgaon, District Pune, Siddhivinayak Temple, Siddhatek,District Ahmadnagar, Ballaleshwar Temple, Pali, District Raigad, Varadavinayak Temple, Mahad, District Raigad, Chintamani Temple, Theur,District Pune, Girijatmaj Temple, Lenyadri, District Pune, Vighnahar Temple, Ozar, District Pune and Mahaganapati Temple, Ranjangaon, District Pune.

The list and order of Ashtavinayak Temples, Maharashtra…

1 Moreshwar Temple, Morgaon, District Pune … Read the article on Morgaon Mayureshwar Ganapti temple..

2 Siddhivinayak Temple, Siddhatek, District Ahmadnagar … Read the significance and mahatmya of Siddhatek Siddhivinayak Temple..

3 Ballaleshwar Temple, Pali, District Raigad … Historical and religious significance of Ballaleshwar Temple….

4 Varadavinayak Temple, Mahad, District Raigad …. Varad Vinayak Temple location, Timings, importance of worship….

5 Chintamani Temple, Theur, District Pune… Chintamani Ganpati Pujan, Chintamani Ganesh Mahima, Timings of temple….

6 Girijatmaj Temple, Lenyadri, District Pune… Lenyadri Girijatmaj Temple’s origin, history, festivals, celebrations, temple timings..

7 Vighnahar Temple, Ozar, District Pune… Ozhar Vighneshwar Vinayak Temple Yatra, best time to visit Ozar temple, Ganesh Chaturthi in this temple..

8 Mahaganapati Temple, Ranjangaon, District Pune… Legend of Mahaganapati Temple, Ranjangaon Ganesha Temple importance and religious significance

What Next?

Related Articles

3 Responses to "Ashtavinayaka Temples near Pune: Ashtavinayak Yatra"

  1. Anonymous says:

    List of 8 famous lord ganesh in pune district and wht is the place

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.